The Lea Extreme Race

The Lea Extreme Race – Tasmania

The Lea Extreme Race is Australia’s premiere extreme kayaking race, currently in its 14th year.  The race features teams of 2 paddlers competing a time trial down the class four rapids of the Lea River in northern Tasmania.  Paddlers compete for the “Bull”, the iconic trophy associated with this race.

Unlike other similar races around the world, the race course features natural flows, which can vary significantly from year to year.  That adds to the challenge and excitement of the race, with racers needing to know the river at varying flows, from very low to very high. The race has widespread awareness within the Australian paddling community and within the general outdoor community in Tasmania itself.  We routinely have teams travelling from Melbourne, Sydney, far North Queensland and Western Australia.  Over the years we have had a number of competitors from New Zealand, Europe and North America as well.

This year the race has been taken over by the Tasmanian Canoe Club, based in the North West of the state.  The Lea is our home run and we are very excited about taking over such an iconic event.  We are planning to increase the visibility and publicity given to the race and make it more accessible for members of the public.



Tasmanian Canoe Club-

The Burnie Backpackers-

Sea to Summit-

The Cradle Forest Inn-


Rodeb Creations-

Belinda van Tholen, MTA-Mobile Travel Agents-

Smitten Merino-

King River Rafting-

Velocity Water Sports-

Tackle World Burnie-

Race Date: 24/09/2016


Early Bird Entry(Includes dinner/social ticket): $50

Early Bird Dinner/Social ticket:$20

Non AC member fees (Covers insurance): $10


Post race festivities

Presentations will be held at the Forth Canoe Club after the race. Following this, there will be spit roasted and barbecued meat, salads and vegetarian options for tea. Live Music from local Artists to serenade the socialites well into the night


Want to get in on the action?

Entries are open now!

2017 Lea Race Entry Form

Results from the 2015 Lea Extreme Race


13th Shane Pennicuik and James Carmichael 26:32
12th Andrew Jarman and Jordan Taylor 23:32
11th Clifford Roche and Sam Beckman 21:04
10th Tom Wayte and Jarred Atkin 20:19
9th Scott Hall and Jake Pearce 19:32
8th Tank and Leon Bedford 19:07
7th Tom Mountney and Luis Wilson 18:53
6th Tristan Carter and Anna Herring 18:44
5th Daniel Harris and Justin Cripps 18:29
4th Alex Lewis and Kate Eckhart 17:43
3rd Blake Miller and Jake Hodgkinson 17:25
2nd Adrian Kiernan and Daniel Watkins 15:28

and finally….

1st Dan Hall and Justin Boocock 13:59

Congratulations again to our place getters, and thanks to everyone who turned out. to make this a fantastic weekend!

Check out the highlights on our Facebook Page